Jay’s Movie and Music Blog

Making my passions known

U2 – Lemon

Posted by Jay Medina on January 12, 2007

U2 has had many faces.  I used to like them way back when they were Irish, back in the early 80’s (Boy, October, War, The Unforgettable Fire).  Since then, they’ve become Elvis-loving Americans (The Joshua Tree), and Techno-Germans (Zooropa, Achtung Baby, Pop), selling produkt with their Pop Mart tour.

All in all, they are still very cool.  Even during their Pop/Techno/Disco phase, they were trying new things.  They have never been happy with just one sound, and that kind of boldness I do like.  This song took a while to grow on me, but I love it.  It’s fun, hip, and very Lemon.

5 Responses to “U2 – Lemon”

  1. mydigest said

    I am old enough to remember when, as a Brit here in UK, I found no good English or British generally popular music artists worth my ear. During Rock’n’Roll (we had not been allowed by BBC or Radio Luxembourg to hear the fore-running Doo-Wop) tacky suits enrolled spotty teens to cover US hits.

    We would hear a super song once and, next thing, it had been ruined by Marty Wilde (since an industry assett) or other inferior product on legs. Of course, I had no idea that many of those very US hits I liked were actually already down-graded pink covers of cafe-au-lait songs (example Crew Cuts cover of Chords Sh-Boom) although, much later on, some soul brothers reported that honky arrangements (Rolling Stone notably) were sometimes insightful and made a useful step forward in bringing a wider market into option.

    So when Love-Me-Do (nice mouth organ, silly song I felt) idiots from Liverpool went on to be big in USA I was utterly bemused. But the years that followed proved to me that we Brits, had the cool and the talent after all, and I was reluctantly forced to stop hating my native tribe, though I still worshipped the Yanks above all.

    It all turned upon Irishman Ronan O’Rahilly setting up Radio Caroline at sea to broadcast music that neither Beeb nor Luxy (alleged on our side but ‘owned’ by the big 3-&-a-half record companies) which resulted in hundreds of new small record labels coming into being. At last new artists could be played. At last we had an industry run by the artists, not by crass old suits.

    Every credit must be given to John, Paul, George and Ringo for having been, like all the fans, crazy about US, soul-originated music and, having the musical talent, taking it on further in an evolution that I found unacceptable until Sarge-Pep won me over in a big rush.

    What I, being ignorant and unimaginative, had equally not expected was that Eire could and would later still produce giants of original talent too. I was lucky enough to live in Merseyside from late 1982 til early 1985 and hear Radio Nova from Dublic, a law-defying, non-establishemnt station (run by an ex-Caroline man Chris Carey I understand), and, once again, I learned that music I liked did not cease when Elvis made Wooden Heart, and Cliff Richard (a righteous Brit because his big hit, Move It, was Brit-writ not a cover) made Living Doll.

    I cannot name a U2 song or any other Irish band but what a boost it was to see Eire emerge from the error of priest-puritanism into the sunlit Rock uplands pioneered way back by Ruthm & Blues electric guitar men such as Elmore James and taken on into so many genres by both cafe-au-lait dudes and pink people too.

    Oo-aa and keep on trucking to you all. Cy Quick at mydigest.wordpress.com

  2. thezoostation said

    I don’t think Lemon is U2’s best song, although it’s definitely up there, but without a doubt I think there is more intelligence and and creativity on this song than anything else they’ve ever done. For a band as creative and boundry-pushing as U2 is, that’s saying a lot.

  3. happyatom said

    I know a lot of U2 haters, and they’re all wrong, ’cause U2 is awesome. Thanks for posting this, I really enjoyed it 🙂

  4. Jay Medina said

    Mydigest (Cy Quick), thanks for posting your thoughts. Although I don’t get everything you said, I can appreciate your feeling for a lack of good music. The American pop scene is that way over here. There is so much overlooked music that is simply awesome that get’s overlooked by the public because the Money Machine known as the record industry spoon-feeds the public what THEY want everyone to hear.

    As far as Irish bands, check out The Waterboys. They have some awesome music, and The Whole Of The Moon is one of my all-time faves.

    TheZooStation: You’re right, Lemon may not be the best, as I have my U2 all-time favorites, but Lemon was zesty, fun, and shows that U2 weren’t taking themselves too seriously. And they still have fun. After over 20 years, to still have fun with what you do is pretty incredible.

    Happyatom: Glad you enjoyed! I plan to post more U2 news, info and videos on here.

    Thanks for stopping by and enjoying yourselves!

  5. Abi said

    Awesome, man

Leave a Reply

 
